lowpolypony

thoughts

2024: the serious year ☆ march 16th, 2024

this year, for me, has been even more formative than last year. in early 2023 i decided i would take a step back from social media, since it had been affecting my health for years. i wasnt even a teenager yet when i first started using social media, and it was a huge part of my life until after 2020, when i slowly started using social media less (that is until i signed up for tiktok :T). during that time, i constantly searched for friends, followers, and likes, and being the kind of person i am, im just not built to get famous like that.

i decided in 2023 to throw it all away, to dedicate my time to real hobbies and things that stimulate my brain in a healthy way, and kick my social media addiction. in the past year i've lost some real weight for the first time in my life, stopped eating things that are bad for me, stepped up my activity and gone on so many walks, discovered new places in my local neighborhood, gotten serious about learning japanese daily, tried animating for the first time, and every day i continue to learn from my mistakes and change myself for the better. i still haven't learned to sew or skate, returned to horseback riding, started writing music or making videos, or become conversationally competent in japanese, but i'm taking things one step at a time, focusing on the things that make me happy instead of the most productive things.

my goals from here are pretty much the same - do things that make me a happier, better person every day; learn from people, online and in real life; spend time more in my community (ive already experienced so much joy just chatting with people when the time is right - something i never wouldve thought about doing before detaching from social media); and keep losing weight and getting fit!

i hope anyone who reads this is also having a good year. my inbox isn't open just yet, but my well wishes are with you strangers anyway! love and peace, touch some grass ☆