lowpolypony

interests

life update + arts & crafts ☆ october 8th, 2024

wow its been a while since i updated my blog! ive been doing things mostly offline this year, and once i got my site to look the way i wanted, i lost motivation to continue updating it. instead, the past few months, ive been focusing on other things - mostly just bettering myself, my skills and behaviors, and having fun. i also started exercising more, which is hard since i deal with chronic pain, but it's going to be worth it when it starts making me feel better instead of worse. i try to take at least one walk a day and i also started doing push-ups every day.

i started watching a new youtuber earlier this year, and they are a crochet/knitting content creator. i gave up on crochet a few years ago because i thought i was doing it wrong, but it turns out i was just being too hard on myself and not quite looking at the right resources - this youtuber is very honest about the hard parts of fiber arts, and since they're an actual professional, it gave me the drive to try again. so i bought hooks and yarn and im on my second row now. before i only ever did one row, so i almost cried a few times, but it was really satisfying when i finally got it right. its five skeins of a cute pink and blue fuzzy yarn that seems perfect for a blanket, and since i want a new throw blanket anyway, i decided to make one.

ive also tried to take stock of what i actually want to do with my art. i realized digital art just isn't for me, at least in the way i was doing it. i like sketching and coloring on paper, but i don't get that same joy out of sketching and coloring digitally. i like photo manipulation and collages way more than just doing a digital drawing. i also like doing pixel art. something i really wanted to work on this year was just drawing what comes to mind, instead of trying to make a nice big piece. i actually taped up some of my sketches on my wall, since the loose and anti-perfectionist method i've been using really makes me happy. i discovered i really like drawing weird little creatures and children's book style characters.

i don't know when i'll ever get around to it, but my next goal for my site is to work on more fanpages. i have one right now that's a secret hidden page, but i have a bunch more planned that i really haven't even started imagining yet. i want to make a vocaloid/vocal synth fanpage, as well as a video on the topic, so maybe i can use that for the page. right now i'm just taking things day by day, allowing myself to rest and relax when i need it, and being excited for the future.